Topic: Wishing for a Different Trompette

I've been using Organteq off and on for almost two years. While I do appreciate the French design of the organ, I've always wished for a different Trompette on the Grande Orgue from the one on the Récit. They are so identical in sound that it leaves me to wonder if the attempt to sound so "authentic" to Cavaillé-Coll that something was lost along the way that would have enhanced the tonal variety while still maintaining an excellent and cohesive sound.

In my mind, a bit more of an English Trumpet (across the channel they did things just a bit differently) would have not been offensive.

Perhaps something could be created in a Version 2 that would allow swapping of a few, judicious stops. It would be such an enhancement. Oh, keep in mind that I understand the nature of Hauptwerk but I'd rather not go there. And, forget about worrying about a Hammond B3 or a Wurlitzer 3/36.

And, have you noticed that the Clarion just sounds like a borrowed Trompette. The same is replicated in the Pedalé. Was Cavaillé-Coll so really uninventive?

Last edited by bnsonger47 (24-04-2022 18:22)

Re: Wishing for a Different Trompette

While this doesn't respond to all of your points, whenever a stop is listed multiple times, it is the same stop.  All divisions in Organteq are floating.

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/2xHiPcCsm29R12HX4eXd4J
Pianoteq Pro & Organteq 2
Steinways, Grotrian, Steingraeber, Bechstein, Petrof, Blüthner, K2, Karsten, & Kremsegg
Casio GP300

I would love to have more options too!
The changes and additions in Organteq 2 are great, but I've always been a bit unhappy with some of the reed stops, especially the Trompette, which I think has remained mostly the same.

After watching the following video by Balint Karosi recently, I can't help but wish for something similar to the beautiful Trompeta real in this organ. I find all the stops of it very beautiful, but the Trompeta real left me completely amazed

Take a look: