Topic: Microtonal support for incoming MTS (real-time MIDI tuning standard)

Dear Pianoteq, I am a composer working with tuning systems and very much appreciate your marvellous and thorough implementation of the Scala .scl and .kbm file standards for tuning when using the Pianotuq software as a playback instrument. I am currently working on implementing microtonal playback features in the music notation software musescore (and also consulting on the development of Dorico), both based on various systems of microtonal notation, in particular my own system of Just Intonation: the goal being to write the tuning and have it play back immediately. The fluidsynth open source soundfontplayer accepts the excellent realtime MIDI Tuning Standard, which is a simple message to retune pitches on the fly. I imagine it would not be difficult for Pianoteq to implement response to MTS and I, for one, would appreciate having a professional grade physical modelling instrument library to work with when I write microtonal scores, which could immediately be played back effortlessly and polyphonically.

I would really appreciate implementation of this feature.
Marc Sabat
www.plainsound.org

Re: Microtonal support for incoming MTS (real-time MIDI tuning standard)

Are you wanting to be able to map Pianoteq to a keyboard with more than 13 chromatic notes per octave?

Last edited by Jake Johnson (15-06-2018 18:25)

Pianoteq should already support real-time tuning messages (you should see them in the midi panel of the options dialog).

I would like to add my voice to Marc Sabat's request for MTS support in Pianoteq.

Julien,

I looked around in the Options/MIDI panel of the Windows x64 plugin version of Pianoteq, but don't see anything there about the real-time tuning messages you mentioned. Perhaps I'm missing something?