Topic: New instruments in Pianoteq

Hello,

I have just bough Pianoteq and I am new to it. I really enjoy it

There are plenty of instruments available and I am sure new will be coming. Because PT has so many parameters to fiddle with I was wondering about it for some time.

How is it possible to create an instruments that would sound similarly or like as any instrument or set available to buy? I guess the first thing I would needed would be a full and PRO version of PT. However, providing I have a full version with all parameters available regarding, Voice, Tune, Note Edition, etc., can I do it? Can I create sound of let's say Model B or even more, as far as the program allows, can I create sound of a grand piano at my school? Or do you think developers leave this one part of simulation for themselves and we can only alter what has been created by developers?

Could someone clarify this for me.

Thanks.

Last edited by Celdor (12-02-2016 10:30)

Re: New instruments in Pianoteq

Quick answer: no. Even if you own the Pro version of Pianoteq you cannot completely modify a piano model to sound like another one. The core of the piano is not available to the user so the model D will never sound like the model B or the U4 Upright. What you can do is modify some parameters (in the Standard and Pro version) and get almost a completely different sound in terms of inharmonicity, overtones and stuff like that. Each model is unique in that regard.

"And live to be the show and gaze o' the time."  (William Shakespeare)

Some aspects of the model are beyond user control. You cannot turn one instrument model into another, but with the Pro version there are a lot of parameters you can tweak and probably get close to what you're after.