Topic: Pianoteq with Focusrite 24 DSP and OSX

Hello everybody,

This is my first post here

I am thinking of downloading a trial version and test Standard Pianoteq a little bit but I have a problem with connections.

My current configuration:
- computer: OSX on MacBook Pro
- audio interface: Focusrite Saffire 24 DSP with old MIDI In/Out and FireWire connection to computer
- digital piano with MIDI keyboard via USB
- digital audio workstation on OSX: Reaper

I am planning to use more MIDI devices later on. I would like to use the Pianoteq with connection of a DP to the audio interface but I am not sure how to configure everything with the computer. I have never done it before! My guess is I would need to connect a piano to the audio interface, the audio interface to the computer. I believe signal would be send back to AI and I can then connect audio signal from the AI back to the DP via Line Out/in and listen to everything on DP.

First, do you think this would work?
Second, piano uses USB MIDI whereas the audio interface has an old MIDI In/Out. What adapter would you recommend? Shall I connect both MIDI In/Out using the same USB cable?

Thanks.

Re: Pianoteq with Focusrite 24 DSP and OSX

Celdor wrote:

I am thinking of downloading a trial version and test Standard Pianoteq a little bit but I have a problem with connections.

Don't think about downloading it, just download it and see how it goes. If you run into problems then come back and let the forum know.

3/2 = 5

SteveLy wrote:
Celdor wrote:

Don't think about downloading it, just download it and see how it goes. If you run into problems then come back and let the forum know.

There's a second part of this message, very important as I am not a technical person. I'd prefer to understand how to connect everything, at first. If I do, then I will definitely download it and test. Before downloading anything, I would like to have solid understanding regarding equipment configuration.