Topic: suggested packs for live jazz performance

Which instrument packs would tend to work well performing live with a jazz quartet (keyboard, bass, drums, and sax or trumpet) in a noisy environment?

I'm a jazz musician but not a pianist, making a transition to a midi keyboard for live performance.  So, I'm a complete newbie regarding synthesizers, midi etc., and I'm struggling to make a good decision about which 2 instruments to pick for an initial purchase of the Stage edition.

My hesitation is this:  the K2 pack sounds relatively dry, and a bit more of a round sound (less high and low end emphasis). In my experience, I would suspect that the dry sound would have some advantage in a noisy environment, and the round sound would tend to blend more easily with other instruments, especially horns.  However, to my ears, the K2 doesn't sound natural.

My ears far prefer the sound of any of the others that are based on a specific instrument.  And reading this forum I see frequent mention of the Steinway D and Petrof packs since they each include two instruments.

Does anyone have suggestions about which instruments they find work well in a club environment, subject to some crowd noise, and might blend well with horns?

Thanks,
Rik

Re: suggested packs for live jazz performance

rik wrote:

Which instrument packs would tend to work well performing live with a jazz quartet (keyboard, bass, drums, and sax or trumpet) in a noisy environment?

I'm a jazz musician but not a pianist, making a transition to a midi keyboard for live performance.  So, I'm a complete newbie regarding synthesizers, midi etc., and I'm struggling to make a good decision about which 2 instruments to pick for an initial purchase of the Stage edition.